Opinion

Why the All Blacks won't do a Germany

The All Blacks won't fall into the same traps that Germany did, writes Andrew Gourdie.

01/07/2018

The big problem with Damian McKenzie's try

The All Blacks coaches are geniuses, writes Andrew Gourdie.

24/06/2018

Mark Sainsbury: New Zealand’s elderly need your help

I want to see measures to be put in place to protect the elderly’s rights, writes Mark Sainsbury.

21/06/2018

Opinion: 'Hopefully...no one will suffer as my dad did' - Corina

Elderly citizens do not deserve to be in fear of needing aged care or fear that they won’t be treated with dignity and respect, writes Corina.

19/06/2018

Why Football Ferns coach Andreas Heraf has to go

It’s apparent he does not comprehend or care for the damage his comments have caused, writes Andrew Gourdie.

15/06/2018

Jeremy Parkinson: 'Think about what Shane Jones is saying'

Night talk - opening comments, Thursday 14th June 2018. Tonight: does business get an uneven say in how we live in New Zealand?

14/06/2018

Kim Blair: Does a ban on beggars ever work?

Night talk - opening comments, Wednesday 13th June 2018. Tonight: Tauranga City Council has voted to ban beggars near shops, but will the ban work?

13/06/2018

All Blacks vs France: A test match ruined

There's a reason video review exists - so why not use it, writes Andrew Gourdie.

10/06/2018

Labour must understand and work with Māori

Labour is very aware that it would still be warming the opposition benches if Maori had not delivered those seats, writes Mitch Harris.

05/06/2018

Has rugby crossed the 'nipple' line?

The change won't ruin the game - it might improve it, writes Andrew Gourdie.

27/05/2018

Why an Auckland waterfront stadium must be built now

The problems will deepen if we don't build it now, writes Andrew Gourdie.

20/05/2018

Mitch Harris: A tale of two portfolios

Many farmers and agri-businesses have thumbed their noses at the systems that are designed to protect them, writes Mitch Harris.

18/05/2018

The Royal Wedding: A rare reminder of the royals' trivial impact on New Zealand

What a lot of silly fuss over a couple of toffs, writes Graeme Hill.

15/05/2018

The royal rebel is finally tying the knot

I like to think that had Harry’s mother Diana lived she would have loved the whole thing, writes Wendyl Nissen.

10/05/2018

It’s about damn time Aucklanders pay to use the motorway

Auckland is a city nearing crisis point. There are not enough houses but there are too many cars, writes Mike Roke.

03/05/2018

New Zealand's greatest ever management fail

Fletcher built New Zealand, but its rotting carcass lays prostrate on the ground, writes Mitch Harris.

01/05/2018

Trump, Clinton and the Auckland Blues - Mitch Harris

The latest musings from the mind of Night Talk host Mitch Harris, on-air between 8pm and midnight.

24/04/2018

The Apologist, by Mitch Harris

A National Party supporter accused me of being a "Jacinda apologist". I thought about it and decided the description wasn't accurate enough...

23/04/2018

What the hell is wrong with our professional drivers?

I’m going to make the statistically unproven point that our professional drivers are amongst the worst offenders, writes Roman Travers.

21/04/2018

Herald backlash at talkback trash talk

It must be hard for the “old school journos” to swallow the sort of Trump-base nonsense that Hosking bangs out each day, writes Mitch Harris.

20/04/2018

Do New Zealand a favour and get a flu vaccine

Opinion: The risks are known and yet some still choose to take their chances, writes Roman Travers.

11/04/2018

You’d get Taika’s point if you weren't white

Opinion: Anyone who is not white can understand what Taika Waititi is saying, Anand Hira writes.

10/04/2018

New Zealand reputation ‘sabotaged’ by Taika Waititi – Duncan Garner

Duncan Garner has slammed filmmaker Taika Waititi over his latest racism comments.

10/04/2018

C’mon Joe - take the money and run

Joseph Parker is a nice guy and a terrific boxer. I wish he would leave it at that, writes Mitch Harris.

04/04/2018

Mitch Harris: Apparently we are a laughing stock - but I can’t find any evidence of it

I am glad to live in a country that is so unimportant that the Russians might not have any spies here, writes Mitch Harris.

03/04/2018